AASL Virtual Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, October 21, 2020

12:00 p.m. Eastern  |  11:00 a.m. Central | 10:00 a.m. Mountain | 9:00 a.m. Pacific

Join AASL and Immediate Past President Mary Keeling to recognize the 2020 AASL Award and Grant recipients. In lieu of an in-person ceremony, AASL is holding a virtual ceremony that will allow the award chairs and sponsors to honor the award recipients and enable the winners' colleagues and students and other school library professionals to share in the excitement.

REGISTER NOW


AASL Awards Program *

WELCOME
Mary Keeling, AASL Immediate Past President, 2020-2021

AASL AWARDS COMMITTEE
Susan Yutzey, Chair

ABC-CLIO LEADERSHIP GRANT
Sponsor: ABC-CLIO
Committee Chair: Dr. MB Ogawa
Recipient:

AASL CHAPTER OF THE YEAR
Sponsor: AASL
Committee Chair: Nichole Ballard-Long, Library Media Specialist

Recipient:

COLLABORATIVE SCHOOL LIBRARY AWARD
Sponsor: Scholastic Book Fairs
Committee Chair: Jennifer Powell
Recipients:

DISTINGUISHED SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR
Sponsor: ProQuest
Committee Chair: Susan Hess
Recipient:

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD
Sponsor: Rosen Publishing
Committee Chair: Liz Deskins
Recipient:

FRANCES HENNE AWARD
Sponsor: Libraries Unlimited
Committee Chair: Martha Pangburn, School Librarian
Recipient:

INNOVATIVE READING GRANT
Sponsor: Capstone
Committee Chair: Alexa Lalejini, School Library Media Specialist
Recipient:

ROALD DAHL’S MISS HONEY AWARD
Sponsor: Penguin
Committee Chair: Lisa Koch, Librarian
Recipients:

RUTH TOOR GRANT FOR STRONG PUBLIC SCHOOL LIBRARIES
Sponsor: Catherine Toor, on behalf of the Jay & Ruth Toor Family
Committee Chair: Hilda Weisburg
Recipient:

INTELLECTUAL FREEDOM AWARD
Sponsor: ProQuest
Committee Chair: Valerie Ayer
Recipients:

PAST PRESIDENTS PLANNING GRANTS
Chair: Dorcas Hand
Recipients:

INSPIRE COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT GRANTS
Sponsor: Marina "Marney" Welmers
Committee Chair: Nicolle Mazzola, LMC Director
Recipients:

INSPIRE SPECIAL EVENT GRANTS
Sponsor: Marina "Marney" Welmers
Committee Chair: Rebecca Gordon, Librarian, Lakeview Elementary
Recipients:

AASL RESEARCH GRANTS
Sponsor: ABC-CLIO
Committee Chair: Elizabeth Burns
Recipients:

  • “School and Public Library Collaboration: A Phenomenology of Working Together” by Jenna Kammer and Denise Moreland
  • “Rethinking Curation in School Libraries and School Library Education: Critical, Conceptual, Collaborative” by Jenna Spiering and Kate Lechtenberg
  • “Application of the Teacher Citizenship Behavior (TCB) Theory to the Extra-Role Work of School Librarians” by Karen Reed

NATIONAL SCHOOL LIBRARY OF THE YEAR
Sponsor: Follett
Committee Chair: Priscille Dando
Recipient:

  • TBA

* The order of the ceremony is tentative and may be adjusted.