Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

Contact: Gwendolyn Prellwitz
Program Officer, Diversity

For Immediate Release                
July 9, 2004         

Spectrum Scholarship winners announced

CHICAGO - The American Library Association's (ALA) Office for Diversity announced its seventh cohort of Spectrum Scholarships during ALA's Annual Conference in Orlando, Fla. June 24-30. The Spectrum initiative's goal is to recruit applicants and to award scholarships to American Indian/Alaska Native; Asian; Black/African American; Hispanic/Latino; and Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander students for graduate programs in library and information studies. Its mission is improving service at the local level through the development of a representative workforce that reflects the communities served by all libraries in the new millennium. The ALA Spectrum Scholarship provides a one-year $5,000 scholarship and over $1,500 in professional development opportunities to a number of eligible recipients each year.

The 2004-5 Spectrum Scholars are:

Yolanda Alaniz, Los Angeles

Alice "Jade" Alburo, Silver Spring, Md. 

Sonia A. Alcantara, Cape Coral, Fla.

Camille L. Callison, Vancouver

Duane M. Carter, Austin, Texas

Doris G. Dixon (Howard M. & Gladys B. Teeple Scholar), Memphis, Tenn.

Vernica M. Downey, Somerville, Mass.

Leigh B. Esquerra (MLA/NLM Spectrum Scholar), Tucson, Ariz.

Barbara C. Gabaldon, Albuquerque, N.M. 

Vi T. Ha (Louise Giles Scholar), Los Angeles

Leigha Jewel Harden, Billings, Mont.

Patrice M. Johnson (Leo Albert Scholar), Chicago  

Juenita L. Lee, Oakland, Calif.

Noreen Ma, Burnaby, British Columbia   

Analiza Perez, Laredo, Texas

Amber Prentiss, College Park, Ga.

Randi E. Robinson, Forestville, Md.

Elizabeth Barrera Rush, San Antonio, Texas

Carrie M. Sawyer, Indianapolis

Justin O. Woo, San Francisco

Alicia S.Q. Yao, Sierra Madre, Calf.

Valerie Jean Yazza, Rio Rancho, N.M.

Established in 1997, ALA committed resources for 50 annual Spectrum Scholarships a year for the Initiative's first four years.  The Spectrum initiative continues to fund scholarships through the initial endowment and the generous contributions of individuals and organizations whose donations support named scholarships in the Spectrum Family of Funds.  For 2004, scholarships will be awarded in honor of the following individuals:  Leo Albert, Louise Giles, and Howard M. and Gladys B. Teeple.  Additionally, the Medical Library Association/National Library of Medicine (MLA/NLM) has committed funds to support one scholarship a year through 2010.  The 2004-5 MLA/NLM Spectrum Scholarship supports a student of color with an interest in the field of medical or health sciences librarianship.

In order to continue its dedication to promoting diversity within the profession, the ALA seeks to establish a $5 million endowment to support Spectrum Scholarships in perpetuity.  For more information on the Spectrum initiative and how you can contribute, please contact the Office for Diversity at 1-800-545-2433 ext. 5048 or visit .