Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

Do you want to link to this page?  Use this handy URL:

Previous Winners    Nominate a Title    Policies and Procedures     Who was Michael L. Printz


The Michael L. Printz Award for
Excellence in Young Adult Literature

The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association.  The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

  YALSA produces seals for the Michael L. Printz Award which can be placed on the winning books.  The seals are available in the ALA online storeGold seals for the winning book, and silver seals for the honor books. Image

You can also listen to audio recordings of the previous winners acceptance speeches in the YALSA For Members Only section. (Access to the print and audio versions of the speeches require a username and password.)

2007 Award Winner


Gene Luen Yang has won the 2007 Michael L. Printz Award for his masterful graphic novel “American Born Chinese.” The book is published by First Second, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing Holdings Limited Partnership. The award announcement was made during the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting in Seattle.

Yang draws from American pop culture and ancient Chinese mythology in his groundbreaking work. Expertly told in words and pictures, Yang’s story in three parts follows a Chinese American teenager’s struggle to define himself against racial stereotypes. “American Born Chinese” is the first graphic novel to be recognized by the Michael L. Printz Committee.

Yang, who began drawing comics in the fifth grade, is a high school teacher in the San Francisco Bay area. The annual award for literary excellence is administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of ALA, and is sponsored by Booklist magazine. The award, first given in 2000, is named for the late Michael L. Printz, a Topeka, Kans., school librarian known for discovering and promoting quality books for young adults.

2007 Honor Books

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; v. 1: The Pox Party

by M. T. Anderson, published by Candlewick


An Abundance of Katherines

by John Green, published by Dutton, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), Inc.


by Sonya Hartnett, published by Candlewick Press

The Book Thief

by Markus Zusak, published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books

Members of the Printz Award Committee are: Chair Cindy Dobrez, West Ottawa Public Schools, Holland, Mich.; Eunice Anderson, Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore; Angelina Benedetti, King County (Wash.) Library System; Teresa Brantley, Salem Middle School, Apex, N.C.; Vicki Emery, Lake Braddock Secondary School, Burke, Va.; Jana Fine, Tuscaloosa (Ala.) Public Library; Michele Gorman, Public Library of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, N.C.; Jessica Mize, Newark (Ohio) Public Library; Sarajo Wentling, Carver County (Minn.) Library; and Gillian Engberg, Booklist consultant, Chicago. For 50 years, YALSA has been the world leader in selecting books, videos, and audiobooks for teens. For more information about YALSA or for lists of recommended reading, viewing and listening, go to, or contact the YALSA office by phone, 800-545-2433, ext. 4390; or e-mail: