Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

Alex Awards

To view the full annotated Alex Awards lists for 2000, 2001, and 2002 visit YALSA's For Members Only Section. To view non-annotated lists select from a link below.


The Alex Awards were first given annually beginning in 1998, and became an official ALA award in 2002.

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. The winning titles are selected from the previous year's publishing.

The award is sponsored by the Margaret Alexander Edwards Trust and Booklist. Edwards was a young adult specialist for many years at the Enoch Pratt Library in Baltimore. Her work is described in her book Fair Garden and the Swarm of Beasts, and over the years she has served as an inspiration to librarians who serve young adults. The  Alex Awards are named after Edwards, who was called “Alex” by her friends.

Nominate a title for the award

2007 Alex Awards

2006 Alex Awards

2005 Alex Awards

2004 Alex Awards

2003 Alex Awards

2002 Alex Awards

2001 Alex Awards

2000 Alex Awards

1999 Alex Awards

1998 Alex Awards

Award Policies and Procedures

Want to link to this page?  Use this handy URL: