Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search


John Sessions Memorial Award

A plaque given to a library or library system to honor significant work with the labor community and to recognize the history and contributions of the labor movement toward the development of this country. (Established 1980)

The jury is a committee comprised of three to five RUSA members who have demonstrated interest in or experience with library service to labor groups. Members serve two-year terms. Consecutive terms are not permitted. Nominees will be reviewed in a closed meeting of the committee during Midwinter.

Letters of nomination can be sent to the chair or members of the award committee via information obtained via this link.


1981 — Muncie (Indiana) Public Library
1982 — Wagner Labor Archives, Bobst Library, New York University
1983 — State Historical Society of Wisconsin Library
1984 — Jackson-George Regional Library System, Pascagoula, Mississippi
1985 — Birmingham (Alabama) Public Library
1986 — Martin P. Catherwood Library, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York
1987 — Lorain (Ohio) Public Library
1988 — Southern Labor Archives, Georgia State University
1989 — Citizens Library (Peter G. Sullivan, Director), Washington
1990 — Hennepin County Library, Minnetonka, Minnesota
1991 — Department of Archives and Special Collections, Ohio University Libraries, Athens
1992 — National Association of Letter Carriers, Information Center, Washington, D.C.
1993 — Texas Labor Archives, University of Texas at Arlington
1994 — Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs, Walter P. Reuther Library, Wayne State University
1995 — Special Collections and University Archives, Rutgers University Libraries and Butte-Silver Bow Public Archives, Labor History Collection, Butte, MT
1996 — Metropolitan Detroit Professionals Library, UAW Local 2200
1997 — Englewood (NJ) Public Library
1998 — The Institute of Industrial Relations Library
1999 — Libraries for the Future
2000 — Lodi Memorial Library of Lodi, New Jersey
2001 — Duane G. Meyer Library, Southwest Missouri State University
2002 — The Web Design Group for the Allegheny County Labor Council
2003 — Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library
2004 — Ruth A. Haas Library, Western Connecticut State University, Danbury, Conn.
2005 — Bridgeport (CT) Public Library's Historical Collection
2006 — Joan Cassidy

Related Links

Awards & Scholarships Main Pages