Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

First Step Award

A Wiley Professional Development Grant

Deadeline for nominations is December 1.


This Wiley Professional Development Grant is intended to provide librarians new to the serials field with the opportunity to broaden their perspective and to encourage professional development in ALA Conference and participation in Serials Section activities. The $1,500, donated by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., cash award is applicable toward round trip transportation, lodging, registration fees, etc. Eligible applicants may apply more than once.

Application Process

Completed applications shall be sent to the chair of the award committee by the deadline. Each application shall include:
  1. Candidate's current resume or vita and
  2. Two letters of reference.

Criteria for Selection

  1. Commitment to professional development in the serials field as evidenced by participation in continuing education activities, workshops, previous participation in professional activities,
  2. Candidate's written justification for the grant in terms of commitment to and interest in serials related work,
  3. personal and professional development, and
  4. financial need.

For nomination information contact the Chair of the First Step Award Jury.

Recipients of the Award
Year Recipient(s)
2007 Paula Webb
2006 Patrick L. Carr
2005 Jennifer Arnold
2004 Vickie Melicher
2003 Dianne Ford
2002 Susanna Flodin
2001 Allen B. Ashman
2000 Jian Wang
1999 Charity K. Stokes
1998 Lauren E. Corbett
1997 Linda M. Pitts
1996 Corinne C. Jacox
1995 Gloria Guzi
1994 H. Charlene Chou
1993 Christa Easton