Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

Dain Library History Dissertation Award

Phyllis Dain
Library History Dissertation Award

The Library History Round Table of the American Library Association (ALA) sponsors the biennial Phyllis Dain Library History Dissertation Award. The award is offered only in odd numbered years.  Applications must be received by March 1, 2007.  Receipt will be confirmed with 2 business days.

The award, named in honor of a library historian widely known as a supportive advisor and mentor as well as a rigorous scholar and thinker, recognizes outstanding dissertations in the general area of library history. $500 and a certificate are given for a work that embodies original research on a significant topic relating to the history of books, libraries, librarianship or information science.

The biennial award is given in the odd numbered years. Dissertations completed and accepted during the preceding two academic years are eligible, e.g., dissertations from 1998-1999 and 1999-2000 competed for the 2001 award.

Entries are judged on: clear definition of the research questions and/or hypotheses; use of appropriate source materials; depth of research; superior quality of writing; ability to place the subject within its broader historical context; and significance of the conclusions.

The award winner will be selected by the Phyllis Dain Dissertation Award Committee, appointed every other year by the LHRT Chair-elect.

Four copies of the dissertation and a letter of support from the doctoral advisor or from another faculty member at the degree-granting institution are required.

Submit manuscripts to:

Letitia Earvin
Office for Research & Statistics
American Library Association/LHRT
50 East Huron St.
Chicago, IL 60611

Fax and e-mail are not acceptable.

Previous Dain Award winners

Library History Round Table homepage