Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search


BRASS Thomson Financial Student Travel Award

A $1,000 cash award given to a student enrolled in an ALA accredited master's degree program to attend the ALA Annual Conference and a one-year membership in the Business Reference and Services Section (BRASS) of RUSA. The applicant should have demonstrated interest in a career as a business reference librarian. In addition, the applicant is required to participate in BRASS activities at ALA conference and to write a brief statement about conference experiences for RUSA Update. The applicant may not accept a concurrent ALA-sponsored travel award. Sponsor: Thomson Learning/Gale Group. (Established 1992)

Applicants must submit a written application for the award stating their academic and professional achievements and reasons for choosing business librarianship as a profession along with an academic transcript and three letters of reference.

The jury for choosing an award recipient is a standing committee of BRASS consisting of three to five members (including a chair appointed by the BRASS Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect), at least one of whom is a public librarian. Members will serve a two-year term. Consecutive terms are not permitted. Nominees will be reviewed in a closed meeting of the committee during Midwinter.

Letters of nomination can be sent to the chair or members of the committee via information obtained using this link.


1993 — Lora Fitzgerald
1994 — Lisa J. McClain
1995 — Tracy Turnbull
1996 — Deborah Lynn Harrington
1997 — Heidi E. K. Senior
1998 — Lucrea Vinluan Dayrit
1999 — Christina Mehta Prendiville
2000 — Paul Brothers
2001 — Susan Alice Shultz
2002 — Christy A. Donaldson
2003 — David W. Guilliams
2004 — Naaznin Adatia
2005 — Jared Howland
2006 — Beth Dunning

Related Links

Awards & Scholarships Main Pages