Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

Contacts:  Larra Clark/Macey Morales
ALA Media Relations
For Immediate Release                                                  
January 22, 2007                                                                                

Willems, Weston Woods win 2007 Carnegie Medal for “Knuffle Bunny”


SEATTLE – Author/illustrator Mo Willems and Weston Woods Studios, producers of “Knuffle Bunny,” are the 2007 recipients of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children’s Video.


The DVD is based on Willems’ book “Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale” and is performed by Willems, his wife Cheryl and their daughter Trixie. It is directed and animated by MaGiK Studio, with music by Scotty Huff and Robert Reynolds. The award was announced January 22 at the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Seattle.


Established with the support of the Carnegie Corporation of New York, the Carnegie Medal honors an outstanding American video production for children released during the previous year.  The award is administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the ALA.


Too young to talk, little Trixie still manages to put her father through the wringer when they return from a trip to the local Laundromat without her beloved toy bunny. Intimate father/daughter reminiscences bookend this lively presentation of the Caldecott Honor–winning tale. Deft animation against photographic backgrounds adds to the humor of this realistic family experience.


“Both parents and children will recognize themselves in this endearing and superb interpretation of Willems’ charming picture book,” said Carnegie Medal Committee Chair Kathie Meizner.


Members of the 2007 Carnegie Medal Committee are:  Chair Kathie Meizner, Montgomery County Public Libraries, Rockville, Md.; Patricia Clingman, Dayton (Ohio) Metro Library; Carole De Jardin, Appleton (Wis.) Public Library; Jonathan Hunt, Modesto (Calif.) City Schools; John Peters, The New York Public Library; Susan Pine, The New York Public Library; Wendy Baker Torrence, Union, Ohio; Tanya Tullos, Spring Branch Independent School District, Houston; and Snow Wildsmith, Mooresville (N.C.) Public Library.


For more information on the Carnegie Medal and other ALA literary awards, please visit