Skip to: Content
Skip to: Section Navigation
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

Contact: Mary Ellen Davis

ALA News Release
For Immediate Release
March 2001

ACRL announces Lange Award winner

Cheryl Nyberg, reference librarian at the Gallagher Law Library at the University of Washington Law School, has been selected to receive the 2001 Marta Lange/Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Award. Established in 1996 by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Law and Political Science Section (LPSS) to commemorate the life and career of Marta Lange, the award honors an academic or law librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science.

"The selection of Cheryl Nyberg for this award recognizes her service to librarians who specialize in law and political science, in accordance with the award's goal of honoring a practitioner who has actively advanced law and political science librarianship," award Committee Chair Susan Parker, said. "Her fastidious research, dedicated publication and exemplary service have been to the benefit of all law and political science librarians. The award describes her work perfectly."

Nyberg is known for her annual annotated publication Subject Compilations of State Laws. She recently published State Administrative Law Bibliography: Print and Electronic Sources (2000) and is the author of several monographs and articles dealing with environmental law. In 1997, she received the Joseph L. Andrews Bibliographical Award from the American Association of Law Libraries, for Washington Legal Researcher's Deskbook 2d (with Hazelton, Jarrett, McMurrer & Whisner).

The award, $1000 and a plaque, is sponsored by Congressional Quarterly, Inc., and will be presented at the American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in San Francisco at the Marta Lange/CQ Award Lunch on Saturday, June 16, 2001.

For more information about ACRL awards, visit the ACRL Web site or contact Mary Ellen Davis, executive director, ACRL at 800/545-2433, ext. 3248 or

The ACRL, a division of the ALA, is the only individual membership organization in North America that develops programs, products, and services to meet the unique needs of academic librarians. It is dedicated to enhancing the ability of academic library and information professionals to serve the information needs of the higher education community and to improve learning, teaching and research.