Virginia Boucher - OCLC Distinguished ILL Librarian Award

The Virginia Boucher–OCLC Distinguished ILL (Interlibrary Loan) Librarian Award is an annual award consisting of $2,000 and a citation recognizing a librarian for outstanding professional achievement, leadership, and contributions to interlibrary loan and document delivery through publication, during the previous two years, of significant professional literature, participation in professional associations, and/or innovative approaches to practice in individual libraries. The jury for the award will be appointed by RUSA’s STARS vice-chair/chair-elect in consultation with the Interlibrary Loan Committee chair. Sponsor: OCLC. (Established 1999)

The jury for choosing an award recipient consists of ILL professionals who are members of STARS appointed by the STARS Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect. Members serve two-year terms. Consecutive terms are not permitted. Nominees will be reviewed in a closed meeting of the committee during Midwinter.

The candidate must have been employed in a library and held some responsibility for his or her institution's ILL, document delivery, or resource sharing services at the time the contribution being honored was made. The candidate's achievement must be accomplished in one of the following areas:

  1. Planning and implementing an innovative or pioneering approach to ILL/document delivery service that is recognized as a model on a regional or national level.
  2. Notable publication, such as an article, book, or conference paper, which is deemed significant in the literature of the field.
  3. A record of sustained, recognized, and exceptional participation in regional, national, or international associations devoted to the promotion of ILL/document delivery in a library environment.

Nominations are due December 15 each year and take the form of a letter, which includes a formal statement of nomination with some rationale and a resume of the nominee's career and achievements.

Winners are selected based on the merit and significance of their contribution(s) and their leadership role in the profession. For example, publications in a refereed journal are considered more significant than those in a non-refereed journal. Professional service is evaluated based on its overall impact to the ILL community. Local service innovations which are recognized as a model for other institutions are considered more prestigious than those which cannot be adapted to other institutions.

The Boucher Award is presented annually at the ALA Annual Conference during RUSA STARS Interlibrary Loan Discussion Group meeting. It is given to an individual or group of individuals who collaborated on the winning contribution. If a suitable candidate is not found, the Boucher Award will not be presented that year.

The Boucher Award Committee wishes to thank OCLC for its generosity and ongoing support of this prestigious award.

Letters of nomination can be sent to the chair or members of the committee via information obtained using this link.


2000 — Joanne Halgren
2001 — Lynn Wiley
2002 — Tom Delaney
2003 — Mary A. Hollerich
2004 — Joan Stein
2005 — Harry M. Kriz
2006 — Arlene Cohen

Related Links

Awards & Scholarships Main Pages