WSS Achievement in Women’s Studies Librarianship Awards

The Women’s Studies Section awards are given annually to honor distinguished academic librarians who have made outstanding contributions to women’s studies through accomplishments and service to the profession. The awards recognize those who have made long-standing contributions to the field during a career (the Career Achievement award) and those who have made significant one-time contributions (the Significant Achievement award).


Two cash awards of $1,000 each:


The ACRL Women’s Studies Section Award for Career Achievement in Women’s Studies Librarianship, sponsored by Greenwood Publishing Group, Inc., is designed to honor individual career achievement in Women’s Studies Librarianship. Nominees should have demonstrated significant achievements and contributions in one or more of the following areas:

The ACRL Women's Studies Section Award for Significant Achievement in Women's Studies Librarianship, sponsored by Routledge Press, recognizes one-time achievement, by an individual or a group, during the particular year of the award. Achievement may be in any area of academic Women's Studies librarianship, including, but not limited to:


Submissions must be made on the appropriate nomination form (available from the WSS Web site). In addition, please submit a nominating letter addressing specific area(s) or criteria and citing concrete examples. The nominations packet must include 3 letters of support. Send your nomination packet to the attention of Kelly Barrick, Yale University Library, New Haven, CT 06511; T. 203-432-3309; e-mail:

Information & Assistance

If you have questions or require assistance in completing a nomination packet, please contact Megan Griffin, at (312) 280-2514 or via e-mail at

Submission Deadline: Friday, December 7, 2007

Previous Recipients

Career Achievement
Significant Achievement
2007 Sandra River Jennifer Gilley, Kayo Denda, Jenna Freedman, Sharon Ladenson


Marlene Manoff

Katherine Kraft

Carrie Kruse and Cynthia Johnson


Ellen J. Broidy

Cindy Ingold and Linda Krikos


Phyllis Holman Weisbard

Donna Roe


Ruth Dickstein

Sherri Barnes


Joan Ariel

Eri Fujieda, Meg Miner, Beth Stafford


Sarah Pritchard

Marilyn Dunn


Susan E. Searing

Lynn Westbrook

Established in 1999 & Sponsored by Greenwood Publishing Group, Inc. and Routledge